IIUM, Here I Come! (Part 2)


Today is 13th July 2006.

I have been here for almost two weeks. Classes have started and, well, through these two weeks I got many ‘unexpected’ experiences which were funny and a bit silly. Life in this university can be described in one word: WALK. Yes, you read it right, and why do I say ‘walk’? Well, firstly, as I mentioned in my previous post, my hostel is located far, far away from the kuliyyah, on the peak of the hill. To reach the class, typically I need to WALK for about 30 minutes from the mahallah. Luckily, there is a shuttle service provided but if I were late, no excuse, I have to WALK!

Another unforgettable moment that I will never forget is I was LOST of direction to the class on the first day. To be honest, I was a bit panic and just imagine, the kuliyyah’s building is so HUGE in size and I had to search in every level and every corner and when I found the class, I was exhausted and could not focus on the lecture! Well, I managed to find the other classes without much problem. Nevertheless, what I can conclude here is if you were selected to study at IIUM, bear in mind that life in this university is not easy, it needs your full ‘commitment’, physically, mentally and spiritually.

Watch out for my next post: IIUM, Here I Come (Part Three)

This entry was posted in Anecdote, English and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

