Malacca Official Visit


It’s a very, very long time since I last updated this blog. Usually my routine is to update this blog at least once a week, but recenly some of you might notice that this blog is not updated eh? Myself, I almost forgotten to write a new post. Haha…

Last two weeks I were in Malacca for an official visit there. Well, when I said official, it does not mean no fun at all (pun intended). Why I went there? Basically for 2 things: Holiday and Work. Yup, in two weeks time, I got many very valuable experiences and mind relaxation, which I solely needed. If you in doubt, I went there alone, not with my family members.

Basically what I did there are as follows;

Visiting My Relatives
I was born in Malacca, same applies to all of my family members. The only difference is my family is the only one who ‘migrate’ to Kuala Lumpur, the rest are still in Malacca. The last time I ‘balik kampung’ was on December 2006 (during my aunt Kenduri Kahwin). So, using the remaining free days (read: holidays) that I had, I decided to visit my relatives and cousins. Yup, when I reached Malacca, I was shocked! I saw a totally different view; ah, so much development here and there. When I was in Bandar Melaka, I saw many new shopping complexes (not just Tesco, I saw Giant, Mydin, and soon to be completed Carrefour) and I feel the environment more or least just like KL today! Dataran Pahlawan, Mahkota Parade (it’s different now!) Malacca Sentral, and many, many other ‘hot spots’ for hang-out.

Digging Family History
My family history is what I want to know. Since I was there for 2 weeks, I grabbed this opportunities to dig as much as I could, my family history and background. I’d learn a lot which I did not know before, as I interviewed my grandmothers, aunts, uncles and cousins. Well, my ascentors can be traced back to Indonesia. I belong to Bawean (pronounced as ‘Boyan’) group. Just like Jawa, Mendeling, Bugis etc. which migrate from Indonesia in early 40’s, and settled in Malaysia and Singapore. Most of the Baweans are in Selangor, Malacca, Johore and Singapore. We have our own language, which I still struggle to learn. My mother, father and his/her siblings as well as ‘orang-orang tua’ can converse Bahasa Bawean very well, but most of my cousins and I have problems to understand it. Hehe…

Learning Bahasa Bawean
As I said above, Baweans has its own languange. I learn a bit of this languange from my mother/father and aunts/uncles, but most of the time I was lost when they (orang-orang tua) talk in that language (Hari Raya especially). So, I think it is time for me to learn Bahasa Bawean, and once I familiar with the basic pattern, it is a heaven! Bahasa Bawean is not obviously different from Bahasa Melayu Standard, it’s a mix of Bahasa Jawa, Madura and other Indonesian dialects.

What I learned are: in Bahasa Bawean, the ‘y’ consonant is replaced with ‘j’. For example: Ayam is pronounced ‘Ajem’ and Sembahyang is pronounced as ‘Sembahjeng’. Another pattern is the ‘m’ consonant is replaced with ‘ng’ like Makan is pronounced ‘ngakan’, Minum is ‘nginum’. Besides that, there are several unique vocabulary that not available in Bahasa Melayu, such as ‘renge-renge’ (cockroaches), ‘ocen’ (raining), te’dung (sleeping) and many more.

An interesting fact here is (if you do not know), there is a song in 60’s (Pop Yeh Yeh song) that was sung in Bahasa Bawean. Do you know the title? It’s ‘La Aube’ by Kassim Selamat. This song won 1st place in German Music Chart back in 60’s. If you listen to it carefully, you will realised it is not sung in Malay. Still, when the song is played, I ask my mother/father to translate it for me. Huh…

Uptrend Network Sdn Bhd Discussion
I think you’ve heard about Uptrend rite? Yup, the well known Multi Level Marketing (MLM) company. My uncle, Mr. Azmi Jamaluddin is one of the key person of Uptrend and I got opportunity to learn about the market operation and business model of this company. I had an opportunity to discuss about Uptrend with several company key persons, whom my uncle had introduced to me. I’d met Miss Baizura (Zura) and she share her experience with me. Mind you, she is only 19 years old, but made an average RM5000 per month! Insya Allah, I might join Uptrend and my uncle said he will help me to establish a network in UIAM. According to Uptrend information, UIAM has a huge potential and largely untapped, compared to other IPTA in Malaysia! First move counts.

Preparing for My Uncle ‘Kenduri Kahwin’
Yup, a kenduri kahwin again. My uncle (my mother’s youngest brother) will getting married very soon (in August to be exact). The akad nikah will be held at my soon-to-be aunt house in Parit Sulong, Batu Pahat on 12 August and the ‘bersanding’ will be held in Malacca (my grandmother house) on 19 August. Well, I helped my aunts and uncles to prepare the gifts for the guests, and we need to completed a total of 1009 units of gifts! It’s a daunting task of course, but fun! Mind you, the ‘hantaran’ is not completed yet and the invitation cards were just roll out from the printer and not yet distributed! I follow my uncle and soon-to-be aunt to print the invitation cards. Those cards were printed at my uncle’s office (Jabatan Pelajaran Melaka) to save cost, and was designed by my uncle himself! Smart eh?

My soon-to-be aunt is a very ‘sporting’ person. Her name is Azlina Ruhani (I called her Bibik Lin). She is a biology lecturer from Kampung Kolam Air, Parit Sulong, Batu Pahat, Johor (I’m sure my friend Elfa Haryani know where is the place). I’d share many ideas with her about teaching profession and her personal experience as a lecturer. It was really interesting to listen to her experience!

New Handphone (again?)
One of my weirdest hobby is collecting mobile phones. Yup, I’m not kidding my dearest friends, I love mobile phones and its technologies! Again, my trusty long term Sony Ericsson K510i mobile phone (which is less than a year I used it) has been replaced by a Nokia N70 which I bought for RM 1199.00 cash at Tesco Malacca. Huh, what an expensive price, I bought an N Series! But compared to KL price, here is much cheaper (although is NOT that cheap). Since I know the dealer very well, this price is actually a discounted price specially designed for me (Hehe…)

The actual fact is I did not have any intention to buy any mobile phone while I was in Malacca. It was started when I saw Nokia N70 advertised price of RM1199.00 at Tesco that really changed my mind. Being a mobile phone aficionado, I quickly checked my bank account balance, huh, I still have RM4000.00+ of cash (I seldom withdraw my savings), without further delay, I withdraw RM1000.00 and dashing to the mobile phone outlet… Why Nokia N70? Not because of 3G, 2 megapixel camera or expandable memory, I bought it because of the price! It’s cheap and really a bargain! (I’m mad, eh?)

Now, I have a plenty of serious collections of mobile phones in my hands. I have a Nokia 3310, Nokia 5210, Nokia 3100, and Nokia 2600. I used to have Sony Ericsson K300i which I handed to my dad, and my former Sony Ericsson K510i I gave to my sister (she really smiled hingga ke telinga)… Well, you may think I’m mad because I did not trade in the phone to get a discounted price when buying a new phone. I do not believe in trade in value.

MY NOTE OF ADVICE: Do not waste your money to buy new phone! Use your phone till it rosak, you can save more!

In a nutshell, I really enjoyed my official visit to Malacca, as I’d met many peoples and learn many new things (plus a new handphone). Now, I will entering year 2 of my study in IIUM very very soon, thus I hope these valuable experience will help me in my study. And this mark the end of my post. Have a nice day!

This entry was posted in Anecdote, English. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

