10K! Thank you!


10K! Yeay! :-D

Today is 21 September 2011. I was in my office and ‘trapped’ inside during lunch hour because of heavy rainfall. While patiently waiting for the rain to cease, I sat in front of my PC, and opened my blog. The plan: write a new post. Frankly speaking, I had no idea what to write at the moment, but since it is better to write something rather that sit idle and passing my eyes around, therefore, I cranked up Firefox, and open WordPress.

After the usual ritual (user name-password-login), I opened the statistic page, just to have a look which posts were the most read. One comment from the reader, asking a question regarding Xpax Prepaid. I looked at the total visitors, but… what? Ten thousand? Eh, 10000 people had visited (and read) my blog! Alhamdulillah, thank God!

OK, maybe ten thousand is just a small number, and a lot of other blogs out there have a far, large number of visitors. Indeed for me, ten thousand visitors is  a major milestone, a recognition that people out there read and appreciated what I wrote and shared. I started blogging in 2005, and until now, it is almost 7 years of online journalism. My first post was about news on my application to IIUM Matriculation Center, and from that very first post, I wrote about many things.  There were story about my life during University days, about mobile phone tips and tricks, reviews, personal opinion, jokes.

To translate an idea or concept into an article/post is not an easy task. You have to deal with online community, whom had different and diverse worldview. In your perspective, it is positive, but in other person’s view, maybe it is an insult. Also, you have to deal with different level of understanding, some people can easily understand your article/post, and a group of youngsters might not have any idea of what you are writing about. My blog did not focus on specific theme or interest, thus if I had an idea, sometimes it takes a long time to ‘convert’ those idea into understandable article. Writing a short, simple article is not my way, as I love to convey my opinion and idea in one, complete and concise presentation. OK, simple words: Report/Statistic-style.

That is why my article/post are mostly lengthy, but understandable.

Also, you also noticed that my articles/posts are a mix of Malay and English language. The purpose of doing this is simple: To make this blog appealing to both Malaysian and International readers. Plus, for Malaysian, you can learn to improve your English language skill, and for International readers, you can learn about Malay Language (Bahasa Melayu). I do not say that my English is error-free, but writing in English will give my confidence and room to improve, both grammatically and aesthetically.

Readers are my precious asset, since they will read and (hopefully) give their feedback. Readers are also essential, as they will help to spread the article to their friends, family, thus in return will drive people into this blog. The power of sharing, disseminating information is well known. Technology advancement makes a way for a better communication – now you can update your blog using mobile phone, rather than sit in front of your PC. It is all about speed in todays world.

To all readers of Tok Penghulu, either your an active or silent reader, thank you for reading my thought and my opinion. Read whatever I wrote with a pinch of salt, because the fact and opinion might suit you well, or contradict with your belief. You are always welcome to give your feedback, to comment, or to criticize any of my posts. Sincerity is the key, as I might bound to make mistakes or misunderstood something. Last but not least, if you find any of my article helpful and you want to share it with others, go ahead. Use the Facebook, Twitter button at the end of every article. Sharing a useful information with others will grant you rewards in the HereAfter.

The rain still falling heavily outside as I conclude this entry. :-)

This entry was posted in English, Official Statement. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10K! Thank you!

  1. Fitrah says:

    10k is a large number! Way to go! Congratulations!

    Like

What do you think?

